Exempted countries

Exempted countries : countries whose nationals are not affected by the Schengen visa. Nationals of the following countries are exempt from the visa requirement for traveling within the Schengen area.

voyager en europe

European Economic Area

Namely the 25 Member States of the European Union:

as well as Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

As well as the following countries:

A – B: Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria,

C – D: Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia;

G – J: Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan;

M – N: Macao, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Nicaragua, New Zealand,

P – R: Panama, Paraguay, Romania,

S: San Marino, Singapore, Switzerland, South Korea,

U – V: Uruguay, Venezuela, Vatican, United States of America

exempted countries

Exempted countries: special cases

Holders of a residence permit in one of the Schengen States are exempt from visa.

The list of residency permits entitling holders to entry without requiring a visa is available on the web site of EUR – Lex.

The same rules apply for residency permits in Switzerland or Liechtenstein. Foreign nationals who hold certain residency permits issued by these two countries are exempted from the visa requirement to travel through the territory of one or more Schengen States for a period not exceeding five days. The term of validity of the residence permit in question must cover the period of travel. Waiver of the visa requirement applies only to travel to a destination outside the Schengen area. However the visa requirement is re-imposed if the purpose of the trip is for a reason other than travelling through the territory(tourism, visits, business, etc.).

The documents posted online above are from 2006. Accordingly they are outdated. Recent information should be sought directly on the source web sites (web sites of the Official Journal of the European Union or the Swiss Migration Office, for example).


exempted countries